The Other F Word | Full Punk Rock Documentary
The Other F Word is a 2011 American documentary film directed by independent filmmaker Andrea Blaugrund Nevins. The film explores the world of aging punk rock musicians, as they transition into parents and try to maintain the contrast between their anti-authoritarian lifestyle with the responsibilities of fatherhood, the titular “other F word”. In addition to interviewing over twenty musicians from across the spectrum of the punk genre, from Mark Hoppus of Blink 182 to Fat Mike of NOFX, the film also includes other emblematic figures of subculture such as professional skateboarder Tony Hawk, in a chronicle of the struggles and rewards that accompany raising their children.

It was released in the U.S. by Oscilloscope Laboratories in 2011.


Primarily rotating around interviews of Pennywise lead singer Jim Lindberg, the documentary intermittently switches amongst different musicians, as it jumps between their travels on the road doing concert tours and time spent at home with their kids. In the course of the movie, the interviews are interspersed with archived concert footage of the punk rockers, from recent shows as well as their early years, to depict some of the challenges they face in their roles as parents – while at the same time maintaining their roles as anti-establishment figures for their punk rock fan following. Remarking that their adolescence often lacked much in the way of paternal guidance,[2] the interviewees speak of how they earnestly are trying to be the supportive role models for their kids, that they themselves never had while growing up.

Featured interviews with Tony Cadena – The Adolescents Art Alexakis – Everclear Rob Chaos – Total Chaos Joe Escalante – The Vandals Josh Freese – Session Drummer Fat Mike – NOFX Flea – Red Hot Chili Peppers Lars Frederiksen – Rancid Matt Freeman – Rancid Jack Grisham – TSOL Brett Gurewitz – Bad Religion Tony Hawk – Pro Skater Greg Hetson – Circle Jerks Mark Hoppus – blink-182 Jim Lindberg – Pennywise Mike McDermott – Bouncing Souls Tim McIlrath – Rise Against Mark Mothersbaugh – Devo Duane Peters – U.S. Bombs Joe Sib – SideOneDummy Records Ron Reyes – Black Flag Rick Thorne – BMX Rider